Larry Smith: Why you will fail to have a great career

In this witty and sharp speeches Larry Smith doesn't hold back, calling to challenge the absurd excuses people invent when they fail to follow their Hobbies.

0:12

I want to discuss today why you can't have a great career. (Laughter)

0:21

I'm an economist. I aim the gloom. That all said, all ready for a depressing lecture. I only want to talk with those of you who want a great career. I know that some have already decided that you want a good career. You also fail. (Laughter) Because... my God, it's laughter through tears. The canadian group, undoubtedly. (Laughter) Trying to have good careers are going to fail, because, in fact, good jobs are now disappearing. There are great jobs and great careers, and still is, with terrible loads, nervotrepka, krivopishina, exhausting soul work, and almost nothing in between.

https://embed.ted.com/talks/lang/ru/larry_smith_why_you_will_fail_to_have_a_great_career

1:07

So people looking for good fun. I'm going to talk about those looking for great jobs, great careers, and why you do not come out. The first reason is that no matter how often you repeat: "If you want a great career, you have to follow your passion, you should pursue your dreams, you must pursue the greatest fascination in your life". You hear it again and again, and then decide not to do so. And no matter how many times you download Steven J.'s Stanford commencement address, you still look at it and decide not to do.

1:46

I'm not quite sure why you decide not to do so. You are too lazy. It's too hard.Fearing that sought for his passion and not finding it, you'll feel like an idiot, you're making excuses for why you're not going to find yourself a hobby. They are excuses, ladies and gentlemen. Let's go over the list of creative excuses not to do something that you really need if you want to have a great career.

2:09