Unconditional acceptance

As a Stanford student, I was part of a small group of doctors and psychologists involved. Carl Rogers, pioneer of humanistic psychotherapy. I was young and proud of my knowledge of medicine, being consulted and listened to by my colleagues.

Rogers’ approach to therapy, which is called unconditional acceptance, seemed to me contemptible at the time; it looked like lowering standards. There were rumors that the results of his therapy sessions were almost miraculous.

Rogers had a deep intuition. When telling us about his work with clients, he paused to articulate exactly what he wanted before us.and And it was absolutely natural and organic. This style of communication was very different from the authoritarian style I was used to as a medical student and working in a hospital.

Is it possible that a person who seems so insecure could actually be skilled at something? I had very serious doubts about that. As far as I could tell at the time, The essence of unconditional acceptance was that Rogers sat down and simply accepted whatever the client said, without judgment, without interpretation. I didn’t know how this could have the slightest benefit.

At the end of the class, Rogers offered to demonstrate how his approach worked. One of the doctors volunteered to act as a client. The chairs were placed so that they both sat opposite each other. Before starting the session, Rogers stopped and looked around us, the audience of the doctors and myself.