Elizabeth Gilber: What kills the creative people of the past 500 years

In 2009, writer Elizabeth Gilbert gave a lecture at the TED conference. We publish her transcript.

I am a writer. Writing a book - my profession, but, of course, is much more than just a profession. I infinitely love their job and do not expect ever that something will change in the future. But recently, there was something special in my life and in my career that made me rethink my relationship with my work.

The fact that I have recently published a book "Eat, Pray, Love." It is very unlike all my previous works. She became crazy, a sensational international bestseller. As a result, now, wherever I went, people treat me like a leper. Really. For example, they come to me, excited and asked, "Are not you afraid that you will never be able to write something better? What has never published a book, which would be just as important to people? Never? Never? »

It is encouraging, is not it? But it would be much worse if I did not remember how 20 years ago, when I was a teenager and first started to talk aloud, what I want to be a writer, I was met by a reaction of the same kind. People say, "Are not you afraid that you will never reach success? Are not you afraid that the humiliating position of rejection will kill you? What are you going to work all my life, but in the end nothing happens, and you're dead, buried under the unfulfilled dreams, overflowing with bitterness of failure and frustration? "And so on.

The short answer to all these questions - yes. Of course I'm afraid of it. And always afraid. And I am afraid of so many more things that people do not realize. For example, algae and other horror. But when it comes to writing, there is a problem, which recently began to think and wonder why this is the case. It is rational and logical to be afraid of the work for which people are?