Pico Iyer: the Art of pause

Wherever travel writer Pico Iyer went on a trip? Nowhere. In this counterintuitive and lyrical speech, Iyer takes a look at the incredible insight that visits us at a time when we take a break and just relax.

In our crazy, ever-moving world it offers the strategy in order to free up a few minutes of calm each day or a few days of each season. This statement is for those who want to try to be free from excessive load demands of our world.

https://embed.ted.com/talks/lang/ru/pico_iyer_the_art_of_stillness

0:11

I travel all my life. When I was a small child, the family had decided that it would be cheaper to send me to boarding school in England than in the best school near my parents ' house in California.

So, nine years, I own a few times a year crossed the North pole, just to go to school. The more I flew, the more I liked it, so when at 18 I finished school I worked as a waiter to be able to change jobs every season, going to a new continent.

So inevitably I became a travel writer, and the work and joy came together. I began to feel that if you are lucky enough to visit the candlelit temples of Tibet or to wander along the quays of Havana and hear the music coming from everywhere, you should be able to bring those sounds and the high cobalt skies and the shining blue of the ocean to your friends at home, to convey the elusive magic and bring clarity to your own life.

Although you probably know that nothing seems magical in the journey, if you do not set your eye and mind on the perception of magic. You take an angry man to the Himalayas, and he starts to complain that food is tasteless.