Elizabeth Gilbert: Your elusive genius

Elizabeth Gilbert muses on the excessive expectations in relation to creative people and geniuses and shares the idea that it is not rare that the man is a genius, and everyone has a genius. Funny and touching speech.

I am a writer Writing books is my profession, but, of course, is much more than just a profession I dearly love their job. Don't expect any time in the future this will change. But recently something special happened in my life and in my career that forced me to completely rethink my relationship with my work. And this special is that I recently released the book "Eat, pray, love". She was deliberately unlike all my previous books. She went and became crazy, sensational, international bestseller. With the result that wherever I go, people treat me like a leper. Seriously! For example, they come to me, all worried, and asked: "aren't you afraid — aren't you afraid that you will never be able to do something better? What are you going to write the rest of my life, but never create a book that would be as important to people on earth? Never? Never?"

https://embed.ted.com/talks/lang/ru/elizabeth_gilbert_on_genius

Very reassuring, isn't it? But much worse I would not I remember that about 20 years ago, when I was a teenager and when I first started telling people that I want to be a writer. I met the reaction of the same kind. The people said, "aren't You afraid that you'll never succeed?" Aren't you afraid the humiliation of rejection will kill you? What are you going to work your whole life, but in the end nothing will happen and you will die, be buried unfulfilled dreams, filled with failure and disappointment?" (Laughter) And so on.