Why is our future depends on the reading and the imagination

Excellent article writer Neil Gaiman about the nature and benefits of reading. This is not just a vague thought, but a very clear and consistent proof of the seemingly obvious things.

If you have friends-mathematicians, who are asking you, why read fiction, give them the text.

If you have friends who assure you that soon all electronic books will give them the text.

If you fondly (or vice versa with horror) remember trips to the library, read the text.

If you grow up children, read to them this text, but if you just think about that and how to read to children, especially to read this text.

So, I'm going to talk to you about reading and that reading fiction and reading for pleasure is one of the most important things in a person's life.

And I'm obviously very biased, because I'm a writer, author of literary texts. I write for children and adults. For 30 years, I earn my living with words, for the most part creating things and writing them. Sure, I'm interested people to read people to read fiction, to libraries and librarians have existed and have contributed to a love of reading and the existence of places where you can read. So I'm biased as a writer. But I'm more biased as a reader.

Once I was in New York and overheard a conversation about the construction of private prisons - is a rapidly growing industry in America. The prison industry needs to plan its future growth - how many cameras they need? What will be the number of inmates in 15 years? And they found that they could predict all this very easily using a simple algorithm based on surveys, the percentage of 10 and 11 year olds can not read. And, of course, can not read for pleasure.

There's no direct relationship, we can not say that in the educated society is no crime. But the relationship between the factors visible. I think the most simple of these links come from the obvious: Literate people read fiction