Do here and now

Matthew O'Reilly, honored medical officer, paramedic ambulance, not just in their practice faced with a hopeless situation. When dying, which can not be saved, asked if he dies, can there be a right answer? Needless to hypocritically say "no" to him - and to a greater extent of its own - the illusory calm or should tell the truth? About how this dilemma was solved for him, Matthew O'Reilly told an audience TED. We give a translation of his own monologue.

In the last seven years I worked as a medical assistant in the emergency Suffolk County, New York. We first arrived on the scene in a variety of cases ranging from traffic accidents and ending with Hurricane Sandy.

If you're like most, you are afraid of death. One feels it coming, and some do not. There is even a little-known medical term - "a premonition of death." In practice, this symptom. As a medical professional, I should be able to treat it like any other, so when the patient is having a heart attack looks me in the eye and says, "I'll die today", you need to take this into account when evaluating his condition.

During the work I have repeatedly found himself in a situation that the person needs to live a few minutes, and I can not do anything for him. And then there is a dilemma: whether to tell the dying that he dies, or lie? At first, I lied. Feared. He was afraid that if I say the truth, people will die in fear, desperately clinging to the last minute, he was afraid that it was only multiplies his misery.