How things work: the underground driver

About hiring

My experience machinist metro - almost twenty years. First I worked as a conductor, and each month had a week or two away. When he married, he had a daughter, I wanted to spend more time at home. I decided to go on courses subway driver. They checked the sight, sound, pressure, drinking, non-drinking, morally steady if not whether the drive to the police - I was all right. Although these were formal verification, taking anybody. Some were obvious Bukhari, and the only one that we knew: man-shift. I do not know how he has passed a medical examination, but worked for five years until he was jailed for the murder.

Regarding the courses themselves - experience has shown that a train is sufficient to control a tenth of all the knowledge we have received. By the end of the study, we probably could disassemble and reassemble the entire composition. Know where it is screwed, parts and equipment of all nodes. Lectures were five times a week, we just recite the material in the university.

The machinists took mostly the guys from the suburbs. If the people of Kiev, the predominantly Obolon - that lived near the depot. Women somehow did not take. I only remember one. We do not take, probably because women need a separate room and give, so that they could sleep after the night shift, and a separate shower do. And we had all things in common, like in the army.

Generally, a machinist to work, you have to be phlegmatic. And soon even nihilists, do not take everything to heart. Work generally monotonous, but it does happen and stressful situations.

Passenger

Falling back on track quite often. When I got a job, the event was: AWOL soldier apparently was running away from the patrol. The train was pulling out, and the guy decided to cling to the last car. He grabbed the handrails, stayed for a while and then broke - flew along the tracks. As far as I remember, there's sad it was over.