12 lessons I learned in 12 years of marriage

In 12 years of marriage my wife has seen a lot. We got married before I graduated from College. Soon my wife got pregnant. I graduated from College. There was a baby. Two miscarriages. Another four children. When the youngest was born, we had five children under the age of 8 years.

During these 12 years we have learned a lot. About themselves. About each other. About the importance of marriage. And on why he should fight.

After 12 years, we have learned 12 things about marriage:

1. The desire to share responsibilities equally — disappoint

For some time we considered marriage as a game. Competition. If I do it — you should do this. Meet me half way, do a little more here. If you do 20 things, and I'll do 20 things. This kind of game. But the real work is done when one of you is unable to reach the middle. The extra mile when necessary to pass another. Maybe that ratio is 90/10, if the spouse is ill or depressed. Don't look at marriage as numbers. So someone always loses.

2. Save a place for adventure in life

At the beginning of the novel with Brookie I tried. We have made long walks, dinner by candlelight, I worked a lot to win her over. When we came over the years and the commitments I gave to the fire between us die many times. The fight to ensure that the fire is not quenched, is not necessarily a trip to Paris. This may be an unexpected outing to a local hotel suddenly hired a babysitter for an evening or even a hand written note. Find your marriage an adventure.

3. First kiss each other

I'm not perfect at this, but I try to kiss Brooke immediately when you come home from work. Before I kiss his children. These small details really are essential. For me, being a great dad is important, but even more important to be a first-class husband. Otherwise, we will become neighbors at home who are bringing up children.

4. Aging are often the best description for love