"Why I will never buy a house": all the disadvantages of home ownership

Weighty arguments James AltusheraDzheyms Altusher

Recently, people often say to me something like "I'm going to buy a house," or "What do you think about the idea to buy a house?" The second option I prefer. People ask this question - my friends, and it seems it is really important is my opinion. So, now I will tell you my opinion on this matter, although perhaps in a different way, what you expect to hear.

I have a lot of experience of home ownership. I bought a house, where a fortune by selling his first business, and yet I had a house where I lived with my ex-wife (it ended in divorce), as well as the house where I grew up, and another one, which I generally forgot to this moment ... But enough about me. You already knew that I had the opportunity to examine in detail homeownership. And now, the conclusion to which I came.

There are plenty of reasons NOT to buy a house or some other permanent home.

Reason 1: Finansovayaa. Your money evaporate

Going to buy finally cherished home? Go to the bank and take away all his money, all that managed to accumulate, because from that moment your life is "decorated" continuous financial outlay. For example, you need a huge down payment to take advantage of the mortgage. "But buying real estate - is an investment!" - You will object. Well, you know, that in the period from 1890 until 2004, property prices grew at an average speed ... 0, 4% per year. And that's just the cost of the building, from the walls and roof, and not all related homeownership, what I'm going to tell you below. So if you buy a property for example, $ 400,000, you can just say "goodbye" to $ 100 000 (earned by hard work) of them. You can even put a memorial on the front lawn: «RIP $ 100,000».

b. Related costs

Real estate agents, commissions, notaries, transfer, repair, anti-depressants - that's another 2-3% of the cost of housing.

at. Maintenance