Is it worth saving a whole year to go on a trip?

Every day, we see different gurus here and there teaching financial literacy and telling people, How to learn how to save moneyTo get rich later. These people constantly prove that it does not matter what income you have, because with the right approach you can save for any dream. Is that true?

Today we will tell the story of a girl who decided to take her finances under strict control. save up for a long-awaited journey. What happened? Better to hear the heroine herself.

2 years ago I worked as a hotel administrator at the capital’s airport. 35 thousand rubles is not a salary that will allow you to save a lot, given that I had to spend a lot on renting one in the suburbs, paying for travel, buying some clothes and food, says Dasha.

“My financial situation allowed me only to dream of travelling. This is particularly ironic given the field I worked in. And yet, at the beginning of 2017, I decidedly caught fire with a dream to save up for rest. holiday in the Caribbean?

“According to my calculations, it would take 150 thousand rubles to realize my dream, including flying and living comfortably in this tropical paradise.” A huge sum, but I wasn't going to back down. And for the long-awaited trip, I boldly refused to rest, entertainment and even sleep.

“The first thing I did was make a kind of financial plan, where I detailed my spending. Even the cost of taxis was included in the non-essential expenses: for the sake of saving, I had to completely switch to public transport.”

“Temporarily refused and pleasant little things like going to the movies and gatherings in the cafe. This saved about $3,000 a month. It seems a little, but in a year it resulted in 40 thousand savings. Not so bad at first.”