Gregory Pomerantz: the Soul that has come true

One of his articles, printed a blueprint on cigarette paper as was done then in Samizdat, I was able to read in Moscow. To follow seriously for his work was possible only after emigrating to America in 1981. I read the article Orange in émigré journals "Continent" and "Syntax," literally pounced on his collection of essays published in 1972 in Frankfurt. I remember the joy with which I bought Victor Kamkin — alas, long defunct — the number of "independent private", magazine "Russian Wealth", published intermittently since 1876. Now this room (No. 2, 1994), entirely dedicated to Grigory Pomerants, probably, rare.

It opens with the autobiographical novel "On the bird's rights".

Here is the first sentence explaining the meaning of the title: "I am a freelance Professor, essayist, writer in the social structure no one." In fact, the Orange somehow managed to survive half a century under the Soviet regime "the free artist"-a renegade, regardless of the conventional rigid Soviet norms. Was able, truthfully, to write only what he wanted.

He, of course, is everywhere denied, but the denials he treated philosophically: "... the Failure has ceased to humiliate me. And then it turned out that the failure — something like the waters of Styx that Thetis dipped her son. (Referring to the mother of Achilles, she dipped the son in the sacred water, holding the heel, his only vulnerable spot — the "Achilles heel" — A. M.) In this (inner spirit) all work and not in luck or bad luck".