Reflections on the subject of artificial hamburger

Recently I read on Hightime that Google is going or was going to buy a company that is engaged in the development of vegan meat and the purpose of the project is to make a hamburger taste no different from the present, but done completely artificially. As my profession is related with the food industry, I immediately thought about such an interesting, unexplored and just as useful Maillard reaction, and decided to speculate on how to make faux hamburger.

The essence of the process occurring in the Maillard reaction is the reaction of amino acids and sugars. To describe in detail this process I honestly can't, of physical chemistry at our faculty was not. It is briefly written on the wiki, but even it says that the reaction is not fully understood.

Every day we prepare something in the kitchen (chicken, beef, vegetables) and we have at hand is very complex synthesis of a huge quantity of substances, which are responsible for roasted, boiled, baked, etc. But how can we do this again? To fully explain what is happening in the chicken that we fry, no one can, because it is very difficult to predict in what direction the process will go and what substances will be formed. But experimentally people have been making reactionary flavours (process) and used in the food industry. By the way the first one was on the market cubes "Maggi".