The unique language of pilots

For the first time having been in the cockpit of an airplane, of course, I fell in love with the view, but beyond that, I was fascinated by the sounds. Then again, I never was a pilot. I was a passenger of the Boeing 747 of British Airways flying flight Tokyo — London. It was a working trip, I was a management consultant, accustomed to frequent flights, but still a big baby when it comes to anything associated with the aircraft.

I asked the stewardess if I could look into the cabin, as always asked before 11 September 2001. Soon I was on my way to the cockpit, the sharp end (in their terminology) to have a long conversation somewhere in the sky over Russia. Later, the pilots — one of which I subsequently flew, becoming his colleague on the same 747 — invited me back into the cockpit to watch the approach to Heathrow.

Fastened five-point belt to the seat behind the gray-haired captain, I was stunned by the view of the North sea and the mouth of the Thames and then the London, the sprawling perfection of miniature buildings, even more wonderful after so many hours over the forests and tundra of Siberia. When we declined, one flew over St Paul's Cathedral, bridges and parks, I couldn't help thinking that this is London, a modern city grew on the site of a much more ancient, and we arrive at once from Tokyo, descending straight from heaven.

I fell in love with what I saw from the plane that day. But at least I was struck by the abrupt, monumental technical terms, I heard from expensive-looking noise-isolating headset, which I handed to the crew members.

The pilots were talking about "exchange rate of the beacons", "glissade", "reference speed plus five" (as I later learned, it was about the standard speed touch). Using barely understandable to me the terms, they were contacted by radio with taciturn guys with callsigns "Maastricht Control", "London Centre" and the awesomely sounding "Heathrow Director".