Guide seafood: shrimp. How do you cheat

Have you ever bought prawns at the store? If yes, then you are almost one hundred percent certainty, from becoming victims of fraud. As well? I will explain.

Author: shrimp and shellfish in the world there are so many. I have to say: I do not know all (as I am not a scientist and businessman). I know only the basic types: those that are present on the market. About them we'll talk.

1. Atlantic or cold-water shrimp.
Comes Loose:

or packaged form:

The shrimp is caught, then cooked in sea water, frozen and glazed. All imported Atlantic shrimp are ready for use and does not require further cooking (quite the contrary: you are cooking will kill the product).

In fact, the brand does not matter: the shrimp is the same everywhere. What is the catch?

Any shrimp "calibrated" at the factory. It expanded in the dimensional series. Atlantic shrimp calibrated as follows: 50/70, 60/80, 70/90, 90/120 and even 120+. The figures indicate the number of pieces per kilogram. Accordingly, the smaller the numbers, the larger the shrimp. And this is where the fun begins.

Initially, the manufacturer calibrates the fresh prawns. Following freezing and glazing (coating the protective layer of ice) the weight of the product increases. Usually there is a quality manufacturer of A (is frozen shrimp, which can withstand the stated size range) and quality B. Shrimp in both cases is the same, but the quality of the "B" screwed this amount of ice, which "enhances" its size range one position. That is actually the shrimp 50/70 as "B" is not how will be sold 50/70 70/90 flooded with water; as 70/90 90/120 will go, and in the lower price segment are pieces of ice lurking inside a lonely shrimp 120+ (which has not even shrimp and krill).

This is pure fraud.