Travel notes: Mogadishu, Somalia (77 photos)

Writes blogger zyalt.
Travel to Somalia began with house arrest. My guide at some point feared that I was a journalist, and has decided to lock me up in a hotel. "Today you sit all day in the room, and tomorrow we will go to the migration service and obtain permission for you to move!" - He pleased me. Sitting all day at the hotel I did not like. Explorer did not want me to ride around the city, as he was afraid ... I was afraid he is. Here is a brief list of his fears: - kill me - I was kidnapped, and asked a million dollars ransom. Such price is now the head of the white man in Somalia. - Local security officers noticed my camera and put me in jail - Local security officers noticed my camera and go to jail conductor - In Somalia, a meteorite fall, and all will die ...

About the kidnapping and ransom should make a clarification. A few years ago there was an unpleasant incident. Local pirates hijacked our oil tanker. Anti-submarine destroyer "Marshal Shaposhnikov" liberated our sailors. After the liberation of our commandos shot the pirates and sank their boats. Pirates of the offense:
"We condemn the actions of Russian, they were guided by racism and hatred of blacks and Africa - is a face of the new Russia. In the future, if we will take the Russian, they will meet the same fate as they carry out? "
So what, if anything, a ransom for the Russian will not be asking.
But back to my hospitality arrest. At some point, the conductor was so frightened that he decided to bring me back to the airport and handed over to the Migration Service of harm's way. I recall that at the airport before the border sits a special person, almost a minister who decides to let you in the country or not.