Why is our future depends on the reading and the imagination

Author: Neil Gaiman

If you have friends-mathematicians who are asking you, why read fiction, give them the text. If you have friends who assure you that soon all electronic books will give them the text. If you fondly (or vice versa with horror) remember trips to the library, read the text. If you are growing children, read to them this text, but if you just think about that and how to read to children, especially to read the text.

People are important to explain on whose side they are. A sort of a declaration of interest.

So, I'm going to talk to you about reading and that reading fiction and reading for pleasure is one of the most important things in life.

And I'm obviously very biased, because I'm a writer, author of literary texts. I write for children and adults. For 30 years, I earn my living with words, for the most part creating things and writing them down. Sure I'm interested people to read people to read fiction, to libraries and librarians, and there contributed to a love of reading and the existence of places where you can read. So I am biased as a writer. But I'm much more biased as a reader.

Once I was in New York and heard talk about the construction of private prisons - is a rapidly growing industry in America. Prison industry must plan their future growth - how many cameras they need? What will be the number of inmates in 15 years? And they found that they could predict all of this is very easy using a simple algorithm based on surveys, the percentage of 10 and 11 year olds can not read. And, of course, can not read for pleasure.

There's no direct relation, it is impossible to say that no crime educated society. But the relationship between the factors visible. I think the most simple of these links come from the obvious:
Literate people read fiction.

In literature there are two purposes: