Master class from Alexander Bondarev. Smoking pipes

Making a truly high-quality tubes - a painstaking process that involves many steps. Today's story is dedicated to the manufacture of tubes master Alexander Bondarev.

Like many self-taught master Alexander: I looked at other people's work, something to notice, something he tried to do something to improve and it is adapted in the work. I will not go into the technical details, I will not dwell on some specific processes. It's all there in the blog from Alexander himself, he tells in detail about the processes and pitfalls and does it expertly and with pictures.

Well, I will go on general sites, jot down, so to speak, sketch.

The tubes are made of many materials, from clay and stone and ending with corn on the cob and pumpkin. Although, the traditional material is considered still a tree. Here, too, there are many options: cherry, pear, beech, but the best are made of briar pipes. Briar pipes are also called heather.

Briard - a build-up in the rhizome of heather growing in rocky soil difficult conditions of the Mediterranean. This build-up is a sapling for the accumulation of water, with the water absorbs and minerals, becoming very strong and fire-resistant. These properties make the ideal material for briar pipes.

Briard is harvested specifically for pipe makers. This is purified, washed and dried. Proper drying sets the correct properties of wood and its taste. If dried properly, there will be cracks, and if under-cured, the good taste of the tube will be. But this is fixable, briar may ripen in the form of finished products.