James Rhodes: Find what you love and let it kill you

My life as a concert pianist can be frustrating, lonely, demoralizing and exhausting. But is it worth it? Yes, without a shadow of a doubt.

After the inevitable "How many hours a day do you practice?" and "Show me your hands", that often people say to me when they hear I'm a pianist is "I played the piano in childhood. I'm really sorry that I left". I represent writers who have lost count of the people who speak about the "book inside them".

I think we've become a society, mourning and lost creativity. A world where people just give up (or which were driven into submission) sleep walking to work, home, the payments on the mortgage, junk food, junk TV, junk everything, angry ex-wives, children with attention deficit disorder and hyperactivity, and the temptation to eat fastfudnogo chicken in the course of correspondence with the customers at 8 PM on a weekend.

Count. We can function – sometimes quite brilliantly – with six hours of sleep a night. Eight hours at work was more than enough for centuries (Oh the desperate irony that we actually work more with since invented the Internet and smartphones). Four hours is enough to take care of the children, clean the apartment, to eat, to wash and various others.

And we are left with six hours. 360 minutes to do what we want. And all we want is to freeze and give even more money to Simon Cowell (the popular British TV presenter)? To scroll through the feed of Twitter and Facebook in search of romance, bromance, cats, weather reports, obituaries and gossip? Experience the nostalgia, painfully drunk in a pub where you can't even smoke?