7 things I learned because my child doesn't sleep during the day

Previously, I worked as a nanny and knew everything about how to raise children, and, of course, were always ready to explain what to do. NAPs was one of my favorite topics for enlightening conversations. I just couldn't understand why in some families toddler and preschoolers do not lie down for a NAP.

"My mother has 4 children and she taught all to sleep during the day until school", I shouted.

I knew that all this miserable non-sleeping children just need routine. A predictable schedule. Curtains with blackout.

Well... karma caught up with me. I gave birth to a daughter, who from the beginning hated NAPs.

No matter how clearly we lined up the schedule and any routines adhered to as carefully dimmed the room and patiently fit, she didn't want to sleep. I'm sure in two years of her life, I was Napping more than she is. And Yes, we've survived it.

Here's what I learned during this time:

1. "Sleep while the baby sleeps" was one of the cruelest things you can say to a young mother.

Sounds so simple, right? Just like my advice about sleep, which I handed out right and left before she learned the harsh reality of motherhood.
Impossible to sleep while the baby sleeps, if she sleeps only 10 minutes at a time!
In our house NAPs usually goes something like this:
— put the baby in a relatively safe surface (in the cradle? Ha!),
— stealthily like a ninja slip out of this room, carefully avoiding the creaky floorboards,
— pee,
— sitting on the toilet update friends on Facebook,
— think: "Oh no, not that! Please, no! Maybe it's the cat's meow!, not a child crying, right? Yes? Please don't be a baby!"

2. Never, never (!) no commentary scheme sleep taken in other families.

One simple question Pediatrics on how asleep my daughter, made me cry. If someone's child is not asleep, I guarantee they have already tried all the possible ways, maybe even twice. Do not pour salt on the wounds.