The turning point in the search for clean energy sources

Opening remarks by Tom Darden, at the opening of the 19th international conference on the study of cold fusion (LENR), which took place April 13-17, 2015 in Italy, Padua. The conference was held with the support of Ministry of Economic Development of Italy, in one of the largest halls in Europe Palazzo della Ragione . More than 500 participants. I>

I am honored to be here today to appeal to those of you who have done so much to change the way of solving the energy problem and the needs of the environment, and to change science. I - the founder of the Cherokee (prim.redaktora - Cherokee Investment Partners, the fund controls more than $ 2 billion) i>, and they asked me to tell you who we are and why we have established Industrial Heat as a source of funding for LENR-inventors . Unlike many of you, I'm not a scientist, I am an entrepreneur, but we support a wide range of innovations. As Peter Drucker wrote:

business sees great social problem - do something different, and not just to do something better than it has been done blockquote> do better than has been done - that, for example, to make a little more coal-fired power effective. [Or] Instead, you simply make them irrelevant. Thank God, there are those who, like you, have the courage to make a coup.

In 1921, experts have determined that the flight range limit is reached. In 1932 it was determined that nuclear fission is hardly possible. And in the 1950s, when I was born, they believed that pollution - a necessary part of economic development.

Paradigm shift does not pass easily, especially in science. Thomas Kuhn wrote in "The Nature of Scientific Revolutions", which is usually supported by the crises of our time. If you are at the forefront of a paradigm shift, you will attack your colleagues, and you will attack the institutions that protect the status quo.

We feel that we need to undermine the two central business paradigm.