Before yelling at their children...

Nine million seventy one thousand three hundred forty four

I cherish the notes I receive from their children, whether it be a Doodle, scrawled in marker on a yellow post-it notes, or words written in calligraphy on lined paper. But the poem that I received recently on Mother's Day from my 9 year old daughter was especially meaningful to me. In fact, the first line of this poem made me feel warm tears running down my cheeks.

“The important thing is... mom is always there, even when I am in trouble.”

But I have to tell you, it was not always so.

At the peak of my crazy life, I started practicing something very different from how I acted before. I began to scream. It does not happen often, but it was extremely — pumped like a balloon that suddenly bursts and makes everyone in earshot startle with fear.

So, what are the chances my then 3-year-old and 6-year-old girl made me to lose patience? In that moment, when one of them insisted to go back and take three more beaded necklaces and her favorite pink sunglasses when we were already late? Or when the other tried to pour herself cereal and dumped the entire box on the kitchen table? Or when she dropped and shattered my special glass angel, which I told you not to touch? Or when she, like a professional, then, when I needed peace and quiet? Or when two of them fought over ridiculous things: who and how will be the first out of the car or one of them will get more of the sweet sauce for ice cream?

Yes, these are the things — the usual mistakes and typical problems of children and the relationship annoyed me to such an extent that I was losing control of himself.

That was hard for me to write this sentence. And it was hard to relive that time in my life, because, in truth, I hated myself in those moments. What happened to me that I needed to scream at two precious little people who I loved more than life?

Let me tell you about it. About my madness.