Memories of veterans

Victory Day is dedicated!

Pauline Sviatohorsk
Born in 1925, the Soviet Union

When the war started, I wanted to help in the fight against the Nazis, but I did not want to take it, because I was only sixteen. Railway troops were in Kazan, I came back and said, "Take me, I'm a nurse." But they also thought that I was too young. I continued to beg until he took. Germans mined the railways, so that was a lot of work. I assisted the surgeon. My very first operation was amputation of the leg. The doctor gave it to me, I wanted to come back and say, "attach it in place." He said that I should bury her. I went with my leg out and began to cry. Soldiers who saw me, took his leg and buried.

Frederick Lennart Bentley
Born in 1924, UK

I was blinded by a German grenade and threw my comrades. This is what happens to the wounded did not help, you should help themselves. And I myself got to his. If the Germans found me, of course, would have killed. Cripples not offer shelter, they were buried. I myself have done this. Not to fight the people can not understand it. Do you live close to death twenty-four hours a day. Anyway, the war ended for me. I got a Leylandskuyu factory engineer and worked there for 33 years. Machines explored by touch. Married, fathered four children. After the war, I had a wonderful life.

Buck Dawson
Born in 1920, the US

After the war, everything seemed suddenly relaxed. We met with the Russian on the Elbe. They have drunk vodka before our arrival. These Russian guys are cool, but they are not so different from us. During the celebrations of the Russian fired his weapon, just like in the Wild West. We also wanted to show what we are. One guy was going to show Russian how to skydive. Jumped from the third floor of Staff and broke his ankle. A Russian truck rolled down the hill, turned, someone is seriously injured, but Russian is not very worried. Life for them was worth nothing, or maybe they are just too much to drink.