How to understand the behavior of an electron

Thirty five million four hundred thirty one thousand eight hundred twenty nine

I want to tell you about one of the most beautiful ideas. This physical experiment, and it's beautiful because in one elegant motion, he expands our consciousness, forcing us to realize that objects can behave in ways that we cannot imagine. But remarkably, it can be calculated. It's beautiful, because it casts doubt on the fundamental principles of logic on which we have built our understanding of the world. Perfect because it is deceptively simple to understand, but its consequences are frightening. Hopefully, your picture of the world will be destroyed. Further — the text of the first-person narrator with Wired.

It was eleven years ago. I was a College freshman, sitting in the physical laboratory, turning off the light, and staring at a blank computer screen. In the background played the hits of the 80's.

So, I've been given. On the table in front of me was a box with two thin slit-like openings on one end. We're shooting particles into this box through the gap. I conducted an experiment with photons, particles of light, but you can hold it with electrons and, in principle, with anything. It could even be a ball of 60 carbon atoms, which is huge compared to electrons. For convenience, I'll call the objects of the experiment with electrons, but keep in mind that it can be any material that is broken into pieces.

At the other end of the box is a CCD camera which takes a picture when something strikes her. Each time a particle passes through the box, I see the relevant point lights up on the screen of my computer.

For greater caution we set up the experiment so that at any given time inside the box there can be only one particle. Imagine a very tiny ball thrown into the box. Music plays, we sit and wait.