How to begin yoga?

How to begin yoga? No, not the pose “downward dog”. Do not physical as many people think. And, like any event involving some kind of separate activity with rules.

The main rules of yoga and its precepts, are called Yama and Niyama. They are the first and second stage formal short (eight steps) methods of physical and spiritual perfection, the offered yoga (Ashtanga).

These rules are too concise – ten beautiful Sanskrit words. That is, up to enlightenment, like a hand. And the fact that these rules are given to the student at the beginning of his yogic path, the logic suggests that their implementation is not working. But no. To really follow someone will take more than one life. But since you're doing yoga, to sign “read” this smart “document” for the Universe is necessary. More it from you until you require. And so, the commandments of yoga for dummies:

Rules Of The Pit

1.Ahimsa – nonviolence. Yes, that's why all yogis are vegetarians. But the violence against them is also not welcome, so give up is only worth anything voluntarily and gradually.

2.Asteya – theft. In society it is a criminal offense, but can carry. And yoga will not carry, because the law of karma is inexorable. A tooth for a tooth.

3.Satya – truthfulness. It's all simple – don't lie neither to others nor themselves.

4.Brahmacharya – abstinence. And last but not least sex. For the layman sounds suspicious (maybe, well, to the hell with that yoga?). But it assumes control of sexual energy, which will then be used for spiritual practices. That is, this rule will be in demand at the time and those for whom this will be relevant. And yet... Just do not get carried away;).

5.Aparigraha – anakapalle. For maintenance of the property, again, requires energy that is better spent on the business. So I bought one sweater and wear it in health! Well, at least don't buy the sixth iPhone, while your fourth is not frayed.

The Rules Of Niyama

1.Shaucha – cleanliness. First you need to wash. We can do that. Then a little more complicated – as it to clean and never dirty anger, ignorance, selfishness, intemperance, fear and other negative thoughts and soul.

2.Tapas will. She's austerity. The intention is not to give up on your spiritual path. I came, I saw, woke up.

3.Santosha – satisfaction with what we have. Corresponds to Aparigraha from the previous section. But in our society gipermetropiya about it is not a sin and twice to remind.

4.Svadhyaya – self (in the authentic version – the study of sacred texts). Always learn, learn and learn.

5.Ishvara of Pranidhana – dedication of their labors to God. Or anyone else but yourself. Strictly speaking, to believe in God in yoga is not required. And even more do not have to believe in any particular God. But faith greatly simplifies and accelerates this way.published

Author: Olga Cherkasova

P. S. And remember, just changing your mind — together we change the world! ©

Source: Olga Cherkasova


See also

New and interesting