Is it possible to make a living playing poker (5 photos)

This question was asked in the resource Quora and received a lot of feedback in the form of personal stories of players. We have decided to publish a story that has become the most popular among the 16 published, because from it we can learn a lot of useful information about poker as a profession.

Responsible professional poker player Michael Shinzaki.

game of poker - it's like a roller coaster

I've been playing poker professionally for about 7 years. Of course, this is not the only thing that I was doing all these years. During this time I received a bachelor's degree, visited 45 countries, working on his book, consulted several online startups, but poker has always been the main source of income. At that time I experienced many ups and downs, both materially and morally. Poker has helped me in a fairly short period of time to get a huge experience, including completely inappropriate moments for the 20-year old boy.

When the hands begin to pour in money, everything seems possible

I've seen at the poker table change emotions and feelings of the players. I have often noticed how he was at different moments is in seventh heaven, in full gloom. I saw tears of joy, as well as saw people who were on the verge of poverty, began to pay six figures only in the form of taxes. I saw how people fail and get into huge debts. Poker game - it's like a roller coaster. It makes you worry about how to delight and depression. Poker puts on show the best and the worst in each player at the table.

Poker - a strange profession

This is similar to the process of turning water into wine. There is no fixed salary, you can not just successfully pass the interview and get to work on Monday. You will need a huge number of developments (a foundation) to at least try to turn this activity into a source of income.