Valery Panyushkin: 5 rules for parents against burnout

Speech of Valery Panyushkin, a journalist and public figure, the father of four children and expert "desperation" to "SelfMamaForum" in which he shared his thoughts about how parents can avoid burnout: In some ways I am an expert on despair. Twenty years I write about seriously ill children. I am often asked what I do to not go crazy. Over the years I have developed five rules against burnout.

I believe that these rules are useful to all parents, especially mothers. Because being a parent is an emotional work, and any emotional work sooner or later happens to a burnout.

Emotional work, on the one hand, exciting, gives you the creative power, and with another – burns, especially if you behave properly.

The first rule is to accurately determine the target. For example, when I write about a sick child, I do not aim to cure it is to treat the child's doctor. I do not aim to collect money – they will collect the Fund. I aim to talk about the child's history. All point.

Raise children the same. When I stay with children, I try to very clearly articulate their purpose. Why am I here? To raise a happy man? – No. To grow a successful? – No. I'm just making sure they didn't hurt. It helps to save energy.

The following rule, which I developed, is that we need to abandon gratitude. The expectation of gratitude is a terrible thing that pulls a lot of power. In my practice there was a girl cancer for which we collected half a million dollars. One and a half million! And she was gone. It happens.

Do not expect from children that they will match embedded in them effort or nerves, or money. I imagine it's just banned. If I give my child Second concert of Rachmaninov, but he still prefer Metallica is not my thing! My job is to put a Second concert.

And Rachmaninoff will love it or not – his choice. I know that deny the recognition is very difficult, but it is a very important remedy for burnout.