What is it - to remember all their lives

Brad Williams, mnemonist, 56 years old:

"On any given day of the last 53 years, I can tell you where he was, that passed in the news and what it was the day of the week. And so four years. I have no technique, and I do not rely on mnemonics. To answer the question, what happened ten years ago, for me as easily as to remember what I had for breakfast.
As a child I did not understand that this unusual - to remember everything that happens in life. I thought all that they can. For the first time I connected the date and memories in his fourth birthday. And since then, if I wanted to remember what day it was or that event, I mentally imagined the calendar this year, and leafed through it in your mind. I had developed a child - to two years already knew how to read - but no programs for gifted children was not there, and I was a very ordinary school.

After university, I worked as a news presenter on the radio, and the absolute memory very useful to me when it came to interview and collect materials. And Trivial Pursuit (in the Russian version of the game "Happy caseĀ». - Esquire) I will be hard to beat.

Five years ago, my brother Eric learned that the University of California professor of neurobiology James McGough conducts research into the mechanisms of memory. After many tests, I was recognized as the first person in the world with high precision autobiographical memory syndrome - Hyperthymesia. Since then, with Hyperthymesia were discovered 20 people, but as they say, I work better "extraction system": I do better than others, it turns out to get it right from the archive.