"Almost clever" warm floor on the Arduino from the sandbox

My usual evening is sitting at the computer. Cold nights often have a desire to make my resting place more comfortable. Rather, periodically it was just cold feet. Ideas were different, up to purchase the USB heated Slippers. However, they all seemed to me ridiculous and was brushed aside. And once, looking through the YouTube channel of one of the lovers of the Arduino, I came across a video where it was told about the infrared film. Seeing this film, I knew immediately: "That's what I need!"

This project may be summarized as follows: I put a piece of infrared film under an additional layer of flooring, adding automatic control system using Arduino, a few sensors and VB.NET. Now, in order that and how it happened.

Disclaimer
I have been doing similar projects for several years, doing for myself. Do to do: the process for me is much more interesting than the final decision. Therefore, the process description and experiments is given below, with such detailed details. The use of items sometimes not really justified from a financial point of view — I understand that. Periodically I change something (in approach, in the elements), but certainly not going to go over a ready-made solution, as it will just be uninteresting.

Why "almost smart"? I wouldn't call the temperature measurement and relay control with a timer "smart." As for the future — have an idea to improve the control algorithm by adding a learning function. That's when this project will be called something else.

Why is this publication:
  • interesting to get constructive criticism/ideas
  • to acquaint the community with infrared film
Purchase