Holy cynic Kurt Vonnegut

born November 11, Kurt Vonnegut, one of the most outstanding satire and science fiction of our time. "I am writing since 1949. I'm self-taught. I have no theories about literature, useful for others. When I write, I'm just getting myself. And me six feet two inches tall, I weigh about two hundred pounds, moving clumsily, only swim well. That's all that is temporarily rented, extinguishing and writes books. But I was fine in the water "- so described himself in the preface to the collection of Kurt Vonnegut's own stories.

His father was a famous architect, and his mother - the family of the millionaire beer. Vonnegut So it was with whom to write off their crazy oligarchs. And if not the Great Depression, he too would have been a millionaire.

Photo album from the school Vonnegut, 1940.

During the Second World Vonnegut "lucky" to be in Dresden, when the bombing of the city by US and British aircraft. It killed 135 thousand people, and then Kurt would write his famous novel "Slaughterhouse-Five».

Young Curt

Vonnegut's track record is impressive: he has worked in the PR-manager of "General Electric", she taught English at a school for the feeble-minded, wrote advertising copy, was one of the first dealers "Saab". And in between all that broadcast their stories for magazines.

«If you seriously want to disappoint their parents, and the soul does not homosexuality is - go to the art».

In his books, Vonnegut scoffed, mocked and taunted, without fear of ridicule as anyone. Just was his artistic method - even about the most tragic moments of crisis, and talk with a laugh. More than 10 of his books were put on screen, he remarked: "There are two writers who should be grateful to the coffin of life Hollywood. One of them - Margaret Mitchell, author of "Gone with the Wind", and the second - that I, for the creation of the film "Slaughterhouse-Five" ».

Kurt Vonnegut and his dog