History of one byte

History of one byte © Dmitry Galuscenko
====================================

I missed bytes. Only one. Yes Yes. The one that consists of eight bits. What? No, I'm not crazy, though God knows how thin was the boundary separating me from this condition. But all in order.

I am a programmer. But not just the programmer. I belong to a caste, which is sometimes referred to as systems analyst, sometimes kristalschikami. You know what it is? I'll explain when patient. I can not do without the specifics, but otherwise you will not be able to understand further.

We program odnokristallki chips, roughly speaking, is when the entire complex in a single chip. Program memory and data memory are separated and do not interact with each other. The program can not be run in RAM. The depth of the software stack is limited. Lots of what I can expect, there are eight levels deep, and I can not change the ultimate depth of the stack. Oh, you do not think that! I have the deep resources. 128 bytes of RAM already! It's all about everything. Variables there and that ... imagine it? With the program memory, too bad. Already eight kilobytes. And it is a snap to use. First you need to programmatically kerf desired memory bank, run it the right procedure, and on leaving she did not forget to come back where he was. Yes, we must bear in mind that within the bank I can only move and jump procedure calls, and referrals for conditions are possible only within a single page, ie 256 bytes.