Each of us has his hunger

I read an article once, where were the results of research on the subject:

"Why are some people in dangerous situations tend to take action to rescue themselves and others become paralyzed and in most cases die?».

Squeeze these studies:

• people become paralyzed or calm down (!) (for example, when the aircraft is burning or when a tsunami, Typhoon, earthquake, etc.), because in their view, they could not get into this situation;
  • the men, who admitted the possibility of falling into a situation advance thought over their actions and because of this they were saved because they knew what to do.
Sixty six million one hundred thirty five thousand five hundred fifty four

I'm not an expert in the field of emergencies, I work in the mental health field, so I think that know about "thin places" and set criteria for their own safety is very important.

I'll start in order, slowly.

Many of us (if not everyone) has their own "thin places." They are formed due to many circumstances — like nervous system, of traumatic experience, the environment in which you grew and formed personality.

If the child grew up in a family where there was a lot of violence, the violence was the norm — this is the environment in which it was formed and have adapted to it.

By violence I mean not only physical violence, but also depreciation, disrespect, disregard, not the symbol of those basic things that everyone should know in order to successfully integrate into the environment (eg. that way you need to go on a green light or example. story about sex in a safe and child-friendly form).

So, "a thin place" for such has grown the child will identify and secure for themselves and others defending the borders.