"You're not our son!" — about those who were raised "Stivali"

When 20 years ago I worked as a school teacher (young and inexperienced), I have clearly identified two categories of parents who came to school. It is clear that to call the school for parents to praise their children, 20 years ago it was not accepted. In my opinion, it is not accepted now, which is a pity.

But even those who were summoned to talk about underachieving or mischief the children acted differently. There were those that listened to the tirade of the teacher with a pained expression on his face, looking at the child with an expression of "well, how could you?!" They are more silent, and at the end said, "We will understand." And walked away, discussing something with a child, quite emotional on the way to the exit.

But more then 20 years ago, the parents said something like: "I don't know who he is? Everyone in our family is normal, and this — losers". Or: "Here is what to do with it? Would have stayed in the army, there are those who will." Or even: "we don't know what to do with it. Chemicals do not want to learn in veterinary school doesn't. Reading his books, a literary institution going. That's not our blood, we have all hands working, not the language ground!"

In the first case, the child recognizes the parents as "his". That's what's behind their words: "This is our baby, he is a member of our family, his problem is partly our problem. If he was born in our family, hence, the problem also is related to all of the family." No one takes responsibility for the child's behavior with the child. But, very importantly, share it. Because the child differs from the adult exactly what does not understand the remote consequences of their behavior and because of the immaturity of many of the functions of the higher nervous activity not all of their impulses is capable of controlling.