Why our future depends on reading

Great article in writer Neil Gaiman about the nature and benefits of reading. It's not just foggy thinking, and very clear and consistent evidence of the seemingly obvious things.

If you have friends and mathematicians who ask you why to read fiction, give them the text. If you have friends that convince you that soon all books will be electronic, give them the text. If you fondly (or Vice versa with horror) I remember trips to the library, read this text. If you have older children, read to them this text, but if you just think about that and how to read with children especially read this text.

It's important for people to explain on whose side they are. A kind of Declaration of interest.

So I'm going to talk to you about reading and that the reading of literature and reading for pleasure is one of the most important things in a person's life.

And I'm obviously very much biased, because I'm a writer, author of literary texts. I write both for children and for adults. For nearly 30 years, I earn my living with words, mostly making things and writing them down. Certainly I'm interested that people read, so people read fiction to libraries and librarians existed and contributed to a love of reading and to the existence of great places to read. So I'm biased as a writer. But I am much more biased as a reader.

One time I was in new York and heard a talk about the construction of private prisons is a rapidly growing industry in America. The prison industry needs to plan its future growth – how many cameras do they need? What is the number of inmates in 15 years? And they found that can predict all of this very easily using a simple algorithm based on surveys, what percentage of 10 and 11-year-old can't read. And, of course, can't read for pleasure.