An internal set of skills necessary for parents

The voice of the critic in our head never stop their notations, and to raise children becomes more difficult than could be.

Despite the abundance of books on my bookshelf that had accumulated since finishing graduate school, about parenting I learned mostly from my own parental experience and from other parents, as it happens in all of us.

I am a clinical psychologist and the last 20 years I mainly specializies in the treatment of children and also give advice to their parents. I have a good education, license, experience, and hundreds of books read over the shoulders. Since I myself am a parent, I can honestly answer "the" question that I sometimes ask at the consultations concerned parents – about my understanding of what they're going through, both professionally and personally. So, yeah, I know how to raise children and as a professional, to some extent, myself as a parent.

Parents need a new way of passing through inevitable suffering and the total for all the emotional pain associated with raising children.

Trying to understand all the subtleties of parenthood at work and at home, I have learned one thing: the emotional pain of modern education is universal. All parents sooner or later are faced with the strong spikes of negative feelings and, unfortunately, many bogged down in pointless suffering as a result of what is happening inside of them – their reactions to these painful emotions. This truth led me to the following conclusion: parents need to learn new ways to relate to suffering is inevitable and common to all emotional pain associated with parenthood.

To do this, there is an inherent set of skills – knowing what is happening, what is changing, and that will mean moving forward. For many parents it is too elusive and could be a large part of the pain, as shown by a grim sociological study, revealing high levels of anxiety, stress and depression among parents.