Two professions Irving aloma

Irvin David Yalom (born. Irvin David Yalom; June 13, 1931, Washington, U.S.) is an American psychiatrist and psykoterapi, doctor of medicine, Professor of psychiatry at Stanford University; known as the author of popular scientific and fiction literature. The article is prepared on materials of a live performance of Irving aloma 14 April 2016 at the Higher school of Economics.

On the love of reading since childhood

I lived in a seedy area where it was dangerous to go outside. My parents in this poor neighborhood was the shop. And I spent a lot of time in the library, read a lot. I have always loved reading, at the age of 15 because of this, we met my future wife — we both loved to read.

And then I loved to write. At school my compositions were always the best. Think I'm a good writer. I love to write.

Memoirs

Now I'm working on a memoir and a lot of thinking about what happened earlier in my life. Maybe this will be my last book. I've finished about three quarters. It will be an autobiography where I talk about my life.

I include all books written by me and all my family members and my research, my observations. For me, this book is very interesting, I hope it will be interesting to the reader.

As I'm writing a memoir, I read all his books one by one. And it's very exciting for me to read their own works.

For example, the book "Mommy and the meaning of life" — is not so popular compared to others, but it affects me much deeper than the others in many aspects. It starts with the history of relations between my mother and me. I think it's the best life story I've ever read. And this is a very true story.