Educational program on the importance of the Crimea to Russia

Looking through the PL, I sometimes find it in the comments or not intentional, but the distortion in the statements with regards to the issue of Crimea. Agree, not rare cries of "Why does Russia need the Crimea?" "And so on holiday went without a visa," "us that their land is not enough?", "Who will feed the Crimea now?", Etc.

For a long time I looked at it a disgrace, but brushed off the idea to write something about this. It seems like it's not my business, I myself am a Belarusian and my business just next door ... as you can see, did not last long and now I write. In defense I will say that I myself am a citizen of the USSR, the country though plundered and trampled, but everyone remembers where its boundaries are.
As a lover of history (especially military) of the country, I have some knowledge, which I hasten to share with all stakeholders.

3 photos + video.

So let's understand in order. Why so much blood spilled during these though quite extensive, but generally rather poor and mostly desert territory? And I'm not just talking about the Russian blood, because in recent years the western analysts fashionable to question the mental capacity of national leaders and commanders, to question the feasibility of almost all the military campaigns in Afghanistan, Chechnya, Finland and so on. So, back to the question Why do the Turks, the British, French so it was necessary to knock out Russian Crimea, well, or at least Sevastopol? The answer to this question is very simple, if you look at a map of the Black Sea. For a more convincing look at a satellite map:

So, imagine yourself in the place of Admiral. Close the palm of Crimea and imagine where you would be convenient to place the Black Sea Fleet? And what is necessary in order to accommodate the fleet?
Good base - is: