The destruction of poppy fields in Afghanistan

Ilya Varlamov writes:

Today I want to show you how the Afghan police destroy poppy crops. Quite by accident I came to one of these operations. Since my visit has not been agreed with the press service of the Northern Alliance and NATO, I was able to see how to actually run the operation to destroy poppy fields. You can be sure that this year in Afghanistan still collect a record harvest.

45 photos

01. Early in the morning we leave the hotel and go into the mountains. Driver promises to show the poppy fields.

02. To find them is not difficult. Almost all the slopes in the vicinity of Faizabad in light green patches of poppy fields.

03. On the way there as tiny lawn in a few tens of square meters, and huge, stretching beyond the horizon of the field.

04. Suddenly, the police encounter. They go on another raid. When he learned that I was a journalist from Russia, allowed to go with them and see how fighting with crops.

06. After 30 minutes we arrive at a place of gathering. The police are well armed. You have to understand that for many farmers cultivating poppies - only income. There are cases when the field or undermine police shelling.

07. Support Group.

08. Undo field in two stages. First, cut down the stalks with sticks, and then plowed field tractor. As explained by one of the policemen, the stems should be cut down to the peasants and then not re-planted plants.

09. For works attract residents of nearby villages.

10. Eh ... nice poppy blossoms!

13. In the field sprint women and children. They cry and throw a stick. One month they might have to harvest and sell it, for many people the money was the only option to survive another year in this hole.

16. The options have a little bit. You can start to work and to grow other crops, can go to the Taliban or to starve to death.